top of page

Pedagogies of Transition

pedagogies-of-transition.jpg

Join us for an online discussion series with Dr Frances C. Koya Vaka’uta, Larys Frogier, Elvira Espejo Ayca, Manuela Moscoso, Zena Cumpston and Vanessa Machado de Oliveira. The series is initiated by Biljana Ciric, Madeleine Collie and Susie Quillinan (Study Pattern Collective) and co-facilitated by: Deniz Kırkalı, Ka Yuet Lau and Iris Long and organised by Monash University and Goldsmiths, University of London.

March to April 2023

For so long, we have been implicated in ongoing systemic and institutional crises. We understand these crises as political, economical, epistemological and ecological. As cultural workers we recognize a need to move towards structural change. In this series of gatherings we will share possibilities for epistemic shifts—some speculative, others involving very practical and concrete steps—towards undoing institutional working rituals. We share these conversations as a process of continuously composting knowledge that will contribute to our collective struggle.

In these public moments we have invited people who have had an intimate impact on us and our way of thinking and doing, and in whose work we glimpse possibilities for breathing, imagining and instituting otherwise.

We are a study group of three cultural workers, curators and artists—Biljana Ciric (What Could Should Curating Do), Madeleine Collie (initator of Food Art Research Network) and Susie Quillinan (Hawapi)—who are currently all undertaking a PhD in Curatorial Practice at Monash University, and who share an interest in imagining and practising different modes of instituting within the arts. Since 2021 our gatherings have been composed of invisible and visible encounters as a need to learn with each other, and also from peers in intersecting fields who share the same concerns. What are the ‘pedagogies of transition’ (Rolando Vazquez, 2021) towards different modes of instituting? For us, instituting is closely connected to the curatorial, which we understand as a gesture of caring with others that can collectively lead us to more sustainable working methodologies.

I. Discussion Oceanic visions – 29 March

Larys Frogier – Artist at Ocean & Wavz with Alfie Chua, researcher, advisory member and previous director of the Rockbund Art Museum, Shanghai.

Dr Frances C. Koya Vaka’uta Team Leader, Culture for Development, Pacific Community (SPC)

· UK (Goldsmiths) – 9am (BST)
· Melbourne (MADA) – 7pm (AEDT)
· Lima – 3am (PET)
· Paris – 10am (CEST)
· Fiji – 8pm (FJT)

II. Discussion – Crianza Mutua12 April

Elvira Espejo Ayca – director of the National Museum of Ethnography and Folklore in La Paz

Manuela Moscoso – CARA Director, New York

· La Paz -8.30am (BOT)
· NYC – 8.30am (EDT)
· UK (Goldsmiths) – 1.30pm (BST)
· Melbourne (MADA) – 10.30pm (AEST)
· Lima – 7.30am (PET)

III. Discussion Metabolisms – 26 April

Zena Cumpston – Curator Emu Sky and CoAuthor of Plants: Past Present and Future

Vanessa Machado de Oliveira – Professor and author of Hospicing Modernity: Facing humanity’s wrongs and implications for social activism

· Melbourne (MADA) – 10am (AEST)
· UK (Goldsmiths) – 1am (BST)
· Vancouver – 5pm (PDT 25 April)
· Lima – 7pm (PET 25 April)

Note that the first event is in Melbourne (AEDT) time and the second and third dates are in Melbourne (AEST) time. There is also an issue with EventBrite’s “save to calendar” function. Please ensure that you have noted the correct time of this event

bottom of page